{ "@context": "https://schema.org", "@type": "Attorney", "name": "Jensen Phelan Law Firm, P.C.", "alternateName": " ", "description": "Arizona personal injury lawyers", "url" : "https://www.jensenphelanlawfirm.com", "logo" : "https://www.jensenphelanlawfirm.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/logo.png", "image" : "https://www.jensenphelanlawfirm.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/logo.png", "telephone": " (928) 778-2660", "priceRange": " Contingency", "openingHours" : "Mo,Tu,We,Th,Fr 09:00-17:00", "hasMap": "https://goo.gl/maps/c16DTKMwVNnx9GaPA", "address": { "@type": "PostalAddress", "streetAddress": "711 Whipple St", "addressLocality": "Prescott", "addressRegion": "AZ", "postalCode": "86301", "addressCountry": "USA" }, "sameAs":[ "", "", "https://www.linkedin.com/in/jensen-law-firm-b2637222", "https://www.facebook.com/jensenphelanlawfirm" ] } window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-167752804-1');
Available 24/7 Free Consultations
24/7 (928) 778-2660

How to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Arizona

Posted on July 28, 2016 in

How to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Arizona | SedonaFiling a personal injury lawsuit can be a daunting process. Arizona law has specific rules and regulations you must follow in order to successfully receive damages for your injuries. The first step should always be to call a lawyer. Our lawyers in Sedona specialize in personal injury law and know precisely how to file your claim and seek compensation in accordance with Arizona statutes.

There are other aspects to keep in mind when you decide to sue for personal injury damages including:

  • Arizona Statute of Limitations. Each state has a time limit for filing an injury claim. Arizona requires you to file your lawsuit within two years of your injury, which starts on the date of your accident. However, if hidden injuries present later, your two years will start on the day you recognized the injury.
  • Comparative Negligence in Arizona. If you are found to be partially at fault for the injury or auto accident, your potential damages are reduced. This often breaks down to a percentage, which means you could walk away with 80 percent of what you’re owed instead of the full amount. This is when our experienced lawyers can help fight for you and get you 100 percent of your compensation.
  • Limits on Damages. Some states have placed caps on the amount of damages you can seek through your injury lawsuit. Luckily, the State of Arizona doesn’t enforce any caps on personal injury compensation.

The basic steps to filing a personal injury lawsuit include scheduling a consultation with our lawyers in Sedona and filing your case within two years of your injuries. We can take your case and make sure you receive all of the damages you’re owed for medical expenses and any loss of income or quality of life.

If you’ve been injured, call Jensen Phelan Law Firm, P.C. today at (928) 778-2660 to schedule your FREE consultation. Our Prescott injury lawyers serve clients in Sedona, Prescott Valley and all of Northern Arizona.